Making a Home

With every move, I try to add meaning and purpose to our home decor and layout.  I’m sentimental for sure, but it’s also a way to keep from attracting and collecting excess things.  We’ve moved three times in the last year and a half; not big moves, but moves nonetheless.  We’re currently renting a little condo that we love, and it’s been a lot of fun to redecorate again.  However, you can only fit so many things in 672 square feet!

0w2a9796

variations in color & texture go a long way with only a few objects!

When I arrange our furniture and “accessories”, as I call them, I try to do so in a way that’s intentional.  Does it help make the home warm and welcoming?  Is it simple and clean?  Does it add to a peaceful atmosphere, or is it distracting and adding visual chaos?

I don’t have a paper checklist with each of these questions that I carry around from room to room and mark each piece against; but it’s the general mentality I keep when I add or subtract anything.

0w2a9785

simple, personal art & reminders of things that matter

I want the material things we have to be in our home because they have value and meaning.  We don’t need extra – we have so much.  Some vases and jars are kept because they make for sweet little decorations; others are tossed or given away because they don’t quite make the cut.  One good thing about moving often is that I have to go through everything and re-evaluate it all, and as I go through that process I force myself into a very pragmatic mindset and try not to think twice.  It’s a struggle, but I usually don’t miss the things I toss or give away.  In fact, I don’t remember now what we purged in our last move.

0w2a9794

one of my favorite things is to add furniture & decor made from friends and family.  the painting was a wedding gift from an aunt, the “P” sign made by my sister-in-law, the figurine a gift from my brother, the hand mirror a gift from a friend, the table made by my cousin, & the “Mr.” heart a decoration my mom made for our wedding.

As life goes on and we acquire more and let go of more, I think it’s important to really think about what’s necessary and what’s not.  Often we feel that we need this, that, and the other — for whatever reason — when we really don’t.  We’ll be fine without, and perhaps more content without.  Extra isn’t necessarily a bad thing; it’s when our things creep higher and higher in our priorities and obsessions that there are problems.  Our joy and satisfaction don’t come from earthly possessions.

“Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal; but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal.  For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”

Matthew 6:19-21

It can be tricky to create a home where loving people is the focus.  Are there any habits you have when it comes to making your home?  Little decorating/organizing tricks?  When you purge things, do you take photos to remember and “hold onto” the sentimental pieces that no longer fit in your home?  Do you have any disciplines that have proven effective over time?  I’d love to hear your thoughts, things that worked and things that haven’t.  :)

Have a great day, friend!

One thought on “Making a Home

  1. Pingback: Introducing: Baby Crib Sheets! | toglory

Leave a Reply

