Our First Anniversary

To My Dear and Loving Husband
Anne Bradstreet

If ever two were one, then surely we.

If ever man were loved by wife, then thee;

If ever wife was happy in a man,

Compare with me ye women if you can.

I prize thy love more than whole mines of gold,

Or all the riches that the East doth hold.

My love is such that rivers cannot quench,

Nor ought but love from thee give recompense.

Thy love is such I can no way repay;

The heavens reward thee manifold, I pray.

Then while we live, in love let’s so persever,

That when we live no more we may live ever.

 

A little over a year ago, as a soon-to-be bride, I copied this poem down to give my soon-to-be-husband.  After we had said our vows, driven away, and let the day sink in, I handed it to him with a smile.  I have to smile now, too, reading over these words — they resonated then but they have much more meaning now.

What a year it’s been.  We’ve moved a couple times, changed jobs, traveled abroad, and had a sweet little baby.  There have been ups and downs, of course; as any married person would say, it isn’t a cakewalk.  Yet the challenges we’ve faced and the struggles we’ve had have only served to increase our love for each other.

Josh, I adore you.  You’re humble, sacrificial, and patient — thank you.  You’re servant-hearted, kind, and tender.  You comfort me when I face my own struggles, and you let me encourage you with yours.  I love seeing you on the couch with your Bible every morning, before the rush of the day begins.  You remind me in simple ways that this life is bigger than us, yet the day-to-day we have is still such a gift.  Thank you.

This next year, I pray we continue to grow and learn together.  To serve each other and understand each other better.  I pray we each fall more in love with our Savior, and encourage each other to do so.  I’m so, so grateful for you and your friendship.  You’re the one I want to do life with; what a privilege it is.

Happy first anniversary, Joshua.  I love you.

IMG_1970

4 thoughts on “Our First Anniversary

  1. Pingback: This New Year, 2017 | toglory

Leave a Reply

