Yearning for God in the Midst of Distress

As the deer pants for the water brooks,

So pants my soul for You, O God.

My soul thirsts for God, for the living God.

When shall I come and appear before God?

My tears have been my food day and night,

While they continually say to me,

“Where is your God?”

When I remember these things,

I pour out my soul within me.

For I used to go with the multitude;

I went with them to the house of God,

With the voice of joy and praise,

With a multitude that kept a pilgrim feast.

Why are you cast down, O my soul?

And why are you disquieted within me?

Hope in God, for I shall yet praise Him

For the help of His countenance.

O my God, my soul is cast down within me;

Therefore I will remember You from the land of the Jordan,

And from the heights of Hermon,

From the Hill Mizar.

Deep calls unto deep at the noise of Your waterfalls;

All Your waves and billows have gone over me.

The Lord will command His lovingkindness in the daytime,

And in the night His song shall be with me —

A prayer to the God of my life.

I will say to God my Rock,

“Why have You forgotten me?

Why do I go mourning because of the oppression of the enemy?”

As with a breaking of my bones,

My enemies reproach me,

While they say to me all day long,

“Where is your God?”

Why are you cast down, O my soul?

And why are you disquieted within me?

Hope in God;

For I shall yet praise Him.

The help of my countenance and my God.

Psalm 42

***

When the world seems like it’s spinning out of control, we have a hope.  When people are being killed, justly and unjustly, we have a hope.  When things look bleak and we wonder if our city will be next for atrocities, we have a hope.

Nothing has happened, is happening, or will happen outside of God’s knowledge.  He knows it all and He is always comforting, always healing, always steady.  We have a hope in Him, our Rock and our Redeemer.

When people ask you, Christian, “Where is your God?” — give them the hope that you have.  He is still God, and He is still sovereign.  He sees the evil but He Himself is good.  As you turn to Him, seeking His peace, comfort, and truth, you help those around you see that there IS hope.

“He has shown you, O man, what is good; and what does the Lord require of you but to do justly, to love mercy, and to walk humbly with your God?”  Micah 6:8

Put the majority of your energy into knowing Him better and making Him known.  Be gracious, be a good listener, be willing to hear what people have to say.  Know the truth and live justly.  We don’t fight against flesh and blood, friends; there is a much bigger picture that we are a part of (Ephesians 6:12).  Live today with that in mind.

One thought on “Yearning for God in the Midst of Distress

Leave a Reply

