Beyond Ourselves

A friend of mine recently shared the following story on Facebook.  It’s a sweet reminder to look beyond ourselves and be sensitive to the leading of the Holy Spirit.  It can be a very busy time of year, and a season of painful realities and hardship for some — so I pray you and I are filled with His grace to see how He sees.

It’s so important to follow our hearts…as I was sitting on the plane (Phil & I got separated– we’ve learned all things happen for a reason) my heart felt burdened for the woman next to me (of whom I didn’t know). She didn’t speak to me the whole flight & was very reserved. I felt impressed to write a note of hope to her, telling her how much God loves her. My heart pounded as we exited the plane as I anticipated how to approach her (funny, being a network marketer, right?!) I gave her the note & was honest about how I didn’t quite know how to approach her but told her what was on my heart. She began to cry & kept hugging me, telling me how much she needed that and how her dad had just died.

Similarly Phil & I felt led to pray for a kid waiting on us who told us he was wanting a very specific job. We spent our date night encouraging him & he emailed us the next day sharing how he miraculously landed his dream job.

You can never go wrong sharing love & hope. Step outside of your self and be the change many long to see…

-Sarah Fairless Robbins

“We can do no great things, only small things with great love.”  Mother Teresa

Leave a Reply

