Seek First…

“But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness,

and all these things shall be added to you.”

Matthew 6:33

A bigger house, or at least one with a bigger yard.  A picture posted public, or a few seconds of fame.  A car or a hundred-dollar check or some friends who see the cause and want to help.  A larger (smaller?) family or one that functions differently.  We all want more, don’t we?

There are letters to be written, friends to inform.  Changes to be made, jobs to be done, books that need to make their way off of the shelf and into the head.  We want the house with the view or the little bit of fame but do we realize that that’s not the view or the fame we need?

Jesus preaches to the multitudes and He knows that two thousand years later He’ll be preaching the same message to me.

All these things a human being could want–and He is the only one who can fulfill.  “Therefore,” He says, “take no thought for your life, what you shall eat, or what you shall drink; nor yet for your body, what you shall put on”  (Matthew 6:25).  He knows what we need and He knows perfectly how to give it all to us.

I have dreams.  In fact, I have so many dreams they sometimes conflict with each other.  There is one way of life that seems so appealing, and then there’s another that’s equally attractive.  Depending on the day, one may outweigh the other.  And I read the Word and let Him fill me and I see His paths clearly.  I see all that He’s done and all that He wants to do.  But then there’s my life.

What of it?  What with it?  So many questions and He gently pushes His finger over my lips.  Trust Me.  Seek first His kingdom and His righteousness.  I want great things with this life and I can get so impatient in the waiting.  Sometimes everything moves so. slowly. and I just want to jump ahead and do something.

But that’s where I fall.  God made me a human being.  Not a human doing.  I thumb through John 15 and know this truth: abiding is key.  “If you abide in Me, and My words abide in you, you will ask what you desire, and it shall be done for you.  By this My Father is glorified, that you bear much fruit; so you will be My disciples”  (15:7-8).

Now it hits me–the order in which things fall.  First, abide.  Second, ask.  Third, do.  Not do, then ask, then abide.  God is a God of order, and His order is the one that works.  “Seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you.”

We abide and He fills.  Our desires become His desires, and of course He’ll bring those desires to pass.

Leave a Reply

