Summer School and Beyond

So.  Summer school has begun, and we are now halfway through.  It has been incredibly busy around here, as you can imagine.  We had a team of four come, then a team of two, one individual, and then another team of two.  Then three left, then one team of two, then the one individual.  Now we have one team of two and one individual here, all girls.  And, they’re all girls I know from last year.  It’s been fun having some friends here.

Last week we began the summer school program.  Many of the kids are ones that I know from last year, and it has been so neat to watch them grow.  Most of them have really matured and grown.  It’s a blessing to see! We have 116 kids enrolled in the program, which is quite a bit more than last year.  I will let you watch the video below to get a better understanding of the program.  The news station here decided to come last Friday and film us in action.  There are now 11 subjects, and I am in charge of the cooking class.  Over the course of the day I get to see each precious face and teach them how to cook!  It’s kind of ironic, because I’ve been in the kitchen cooking for the past two months.  I thought that I’d be teaching reading or writing or something for summer school, but I am right back in the [outdoor] kitchen.  It’s fun.

Today was eventful.  I had a class of boys in the kitchen, and all of a sudden I hear, “Miss!  Miss!  Eeeh, there’s a frog in the sink…”  I thought he was joking, but he wasn’t.  There was a little frog stuck in the drain.  I ignored it, and somehow it disappeared.  I have no idea where it went, and I don’t really want to know.  A little while later I had a class of girls and we were sipping our slushies and talking.  Then I noticed something slithering past my foot and the foot of the girl next to me.  A nice, long snake.  Of course the girls started screaming, “AHHH!  SNAKE!  SNAKE!”  And of course, the boys all came running.  Then everyone else came running.  I didn’t know what to do.  I couldn’t leave the kids there with the snake, but I needed to get someone to dispose of it.  And I wasn’t sure if it was poisonous or not.  It slithered right behind some boxes, and eventually Andrew came to get rid of it.  I still don’t know if it was poisonous or not, but it’s dead now.

Hopefully I will be able to write more in the coming days.  I have been sitting here at the table for over an hour trying to write this post, but there are six other people in the room and I’m quite distracted.  Very, very distracted.

Below is the video.  If I have time in the next couple of days, I will write more about what has happened in the past couple of weeks.  For now, know that things are going well and God is good–as always.

Leave a Reply

