A Day

I am trying to find a way to get pictures on the Internet so you can see them…  For some reason I can’t upload them on WordPress or Blogger.  Hmph.  I’ll keep thinking, though, because I’ve snapped more photos and you all need to see faces that go with the stories!

I thought for this post I would share a typical day here.  Actually, there really is no such thing.  But here’s a rough estimate.

7:30am – breakfast.  Eggs, french toast, pancakes, fryjacks, muffins, etc.  They do cook a lot of American food, since the family is from NY.  The hired help, Blanca and Kelly, are a mother/daughter pair that stay here during the day and make all the food and do laundry and clean.  They’re wonderful!

8:00-8:30 – clean up, the little girls finish getting ready for school and leave.  A few of the village kids come here in order to be driven to school.  So, in the van for school go Delmi, Elbia, Judith/Dani, Nigel, Darwin, Jordy, Yasmine, and Jacqueline.  Irma is homeschooled (finishes by lunch, and she’ll let you know!).  All the other, older kids are long gone.  They are off at 6:30 to ride their bikes or catch a bus to their respective schools.

8:30-12:00 – whatever.  Everyone is always doing something, but that something could look like reading in the hammock or talking in the kitchen.  It also could be cutting lumber, running errands, doing paperwork, etc.

12:00 – lunch.  Burritos, rice and beans, chicken, stew, sandwiches, pasta…  I actually prefer the Belizean foods; they are so good.  Here, though, they have incredibly hot “pepper” – aka: hot sauce.  Most of the kids love it (minus Elbia) and put it on everything.  They also are addicted to Kool Aid juice.

12:30-3:20 – more whatever.  Same as above.

3:20 – leave to get the kiddos from school.  Yesterday I went with Ms. Linda to get them and there was a cute little gecko stuck to the winshield of the van.  Ms. Linda watched it while she was talking and driving…  I was asking questions and talking with her, and all of a sudden she screamed and jumped in her seat (high, because nobody wears seatbelts).  It had flown in her open window and hit her.  We got a really good laugh out of that.  Irma was in the backseat and started screaming and then keeled over laughing–until she saw it again on the window behind her.  Then she jumped on my lap.  That made me laugh, because the geckos and lizards are everywhere here.  We sleep with them on the walls and ceilings.  But hey, maybe it’s different on your window??

After we get the kids and drop them off, we come back and the girls get changed.  By now, all the other kids are home from school.  The boys might be playing basketball on the slice of pavement or doing lawn work or rapping in the church building.  The girls just got a pool yesterday, so that’s what they were doing.  And again today.  I have pictures of that too, which WILL come somehow!  Irma, Elbia, and Dani jumped in and stayed in there forever.  So they are the ones I have pictures of.  Delmi came in later and I went to get my camera but she freaked out because she doesn’t like having her picture taken.  I’m going to have to sneak some, I guess.

5:30 – dinner.  Burritos, sandwiches, chicken, pasta, rice and beans, pizza (very rarely), etc.  Leftovers come out for lunch and/or dinner some nights.  And it’s amazing what can fit into the two fridges.  I don’t know how it’s going to work for a week with 28 extra people… the team comes Saturday, from Montana.  They’ll be here for a week, and then I think we have a week “off” before the next team comes.  Usually teams aren’t that big.

After dinner, there’s more whatever.  Wednesday night is church, Thursday is Ladies’ Bible Study, Friday is Salt and Light, Saturday is Youth Group, Sunday is church.  I know I’m missing something else, too.  But we hang out and goof off and relax.  And the air starts to cool down, which is lovely.

So that’s a day.  I actually have to go now and get ready for the Bible Study.  Hopefully I’ll be able to write again soon with more, specifically the things that the LORD is doing here.

2 thoughts on “A Day

  1. Hi Amy, tom Gendron here. Your dad gave me your blog address so we could stay informed on your journey. I have a blog on wordpress and have successfully loaded photos. When I get a second I will review how I did it and pass it on to you. We would all love to see what you have captured. God Bless.

    • Thanks, Mr. Gendron. I’m still trying things to get pictures uploaded, and if I can’t do it I can send the pictures to my parents. If you know of a way to get them up with a really slow Internet connection, I’d be interested!
      Amy

Leave a Reply

